American TV: Autumn Update

I say Autumn, some of you say Fall. Yada, yada, yada…

The new season means it’s a new season of TV, which is good news because I will be entertained in between of sessions working hard at my university degree.

So what have we got to look forward to?

Community: I heard about this show and didn’t know much about it. After watching the first episode I was in love, not just with Alison Brie but the whole show. It has Chevy Chase and Ken Jeong in it. Or should I say it has Clark Griswold in it? If you haven’t watched then quite simply you should. The synopsis of the show is that the main character was a lawyer but his resume was a lie.
A great line is “But I thought you got a degree from Columbia?” to which he replies saying “Yeah, and now they want me to get one from the USA.”
A group of lovable misfits end up forming a study group together. I could go on but I don’t want to spoil anything because it is a great show to watch without any preconceived ideas. I will just say that the paintballing episodes are hilarious. And watch out for Abed, they suspect he has Aspergers and he is always making references to TV shows and movies.

Sons Of Anarchy: I saw a lot of billboards around for Season 4 in the USA. So I decided to watch the beginning from Season 1. Outlaw bikers have never seemed so cool. It’s about a California chapter of a biker gang called the Sons Of Anarchy. It gets pretty brutal and is a good show. Starring in it are Ron Perlman, Kim Coates and Katey Sagal (it’s quite strange hearing Leela from Futurama). Apparently Season 4 starts off quite violently.

 

I watched the season premiere of How I Met Your Mother I hope they resolve it soon. It wasn’t as funny as some other episodes were because Ted’s character is being a bit boring. Interestingly the main character is the dullest but I suppose they are going for an opposite to the normal romantic shows by showing how things aren’t perfect and hopefully his character will soon realise.

Another show I watched was 2 Broke Girls, I didn’t grow up in the 80s but I imagine that 2 Broke Girls is what the sitcoms of the 80s were like. I try not to judge a show by its pilot but in this case I make an exception. It was painful to watch and predictable. Also the laughter track is a pain.

More importantly Modern Family starts TONIGHT! I can’t wait to watch it.

 

PS – sorry for the lazy post, I felt like I should post something and this just popped up.

3 thoughts on “American TV: Autumn Update

  1. I was going to leave a comment but I’m too busy watching the new premiers! Have seen a couple of new ones. Free Agents is irritating and wastes talented actors with sappy attempts at comedy. Two Broke Girls would be funnier without a laugh track and the 12 second punchline rule. New Girl seems to me to be the best new comedy so far. Intelligent wit and a balanced cast.

  2. I haven’t heard of Free Agents, I will have to look that one up.

    I completely forgot to mention the end of Curb Your Enthusiasm and Entourage. I may give them their own post.

  3. Still recovering from seeing the pool stick hitting those balls in Sons Of Anarchy. Hope I set the recorder for Modern Family but love Community! As for Curb, I hear HBO have given the go ahead on another season. Is this a good thing? I know we all love Larry but . . .

Leave a Reply

